# **MINUTES**

# **Seventh Annual General Meeting** of the

# **New South Wales Wildlife Council, Inc**

**Date:** Sunday 26 August 2012 **Time:** 9.30am **Place:** The Centre, Frances Street, Randwick



# Meeting Opened at 0934

### 1. MEMBERS PRESENT / APOLOGIES

**Present:** Lorraine Vass - FOK, Rochelle Ferris - ASR, Audrey Koosmen - NATF, Ilona Roberts - NRWC, Meredith Ryan - FAWNA, Julia McConnell - IGLs, Peter Graham - LAOKO, James Fitzgerald – Wildcare Q, Shona Lorigan - ORRCA, Shirley Lack - NARG, Geoff Bartlett - HKPS, Jane Mills - WRSC, Helen Kennedy – SMWS, Joanne Kelly – Wildlife Aid and Jackie Maisey – NTWC.

**Apologies:** Pet Porpoise Pool, RRANA and WIRES.

#### 2. NOTIFICATION OF PROXIES

Nil

#### 3. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

2.1 Annual Declaration Register Received from ORRCA, HKPS and NARG

**Action:** Julia McConnell

2.2 Meeting Declarations
Nil

# 4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF SIXTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

**held Sunday 28 August 2011** (previously circulated by email as Reviewed Draft and reattached with this Agenda)

**Motion:** To confirm the minutes as tabled **Moved:** James Fitzgerald - Wildcare Q

**Seconded:** Rochelle Ferris - ASR

Carried Unanimously

### 5. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

Nil

# 6. PRESENTATION OF REPORTS

#### 6.1 CHAIR'S REPORT - Attached

**Motion:** To accept the report and congratulate the Chair and the NWC in their achievements

over the last 12 months.

**Moved:** Meredith Ryan - FAWNA **Seconded:** Audrey Koosmen - NATF

Carried Unanimously

#### **6.2 TREASURER'S REPORT**

Audited financial statements for the period ended 30 June 2012 previously circulated by Treasurer

Audit report received and tabled.

**Motion:** To authorise the Chair and Treasurer to sign the Annual Financial Statements and

Certificate as members of the Management Committee and the Public Officer to sign

the Annual Statement for registering with NSW Fair Trading.

**Moved:** Shirley Lack - NARG **Seconded:** Jane Mills – WRSC

Carried Unanimously

# 7. ELECTIONS

7.1. Nomination of Returning Officer

Geoff Bartlett accepted nomination as Returning Officer.

All positions are declared vacant.

# **7.2 Management Committee** (Office Bearers and two General Members)

There being no contest for positions, the following nominees were accepted. The Management Committee

Chair	Audrey Koosmen	NATF
Vice Chair	James Fiztgerald	Wildcare Q
Secretary	Julia McConnell	IGLs
Treasurer	Shirley Lack	NARG
<b>Media Officer</b>	Ilona Roberts	NRWC
<b>General Member 1</b>	Shona Lorigan	ORRCA
<b>General Member 2</b>	Jane Mills	WRSC

# 7.3 Named Positions

POSITION	ELECTED	GROUP	MOVED	SECONDED
<b>Public Officer</b>	Meredith Ryan	<b>FAWNA</b>	L. Vass	S. Lack
Revenue Officer	Rochelle Ferris	ASR	S. Lack	J. Maisey
Minute Secretary	Meredith Ryan	<b>FAWNA</b>	J. Fitzgerald	S. Lorigan
Webmaster/Forum	James Fitzgerald	Wildcare Q	M. Ryan	I. Roberts
Administrator				
<b>Insurance Officer</b>	Shirley Lack	NARG	J. McConnell	J. Fitzgerald
<b>Nature Cons Council</b>	James Fitzgerald	Wildcare Q	R. Ferris	S. Lorigan
<b>Newsletter Editor</b>	Julia McConnell	IGLs	A. Koosmen	J. Kelly
<b>Education Officer</b>	Position t/b			
	reviewed			
Aust Wlife Rehab Forum Rep	Ilona Roberts	NRWC	L. Vass	J. Maisey

# 8. CONFIRMATION OF HONORARY AUDITOR 2012 – 2013

**Motion:** To accept Ron Witham as the honorary Auditor for 2012-2013.

Moved: Shirley Lack - NARG
Seconded: Rochelle Ferris – ASR
Carried Unanimously

#### 9. AUTHORISED SIGNATORIES 2012 – 2013

#### 9.1. Bank

**Motion:** To request the ANZ bank to alter the signatories to the New South Wales

Wildlife Council Incorporated bank account to the following:

**Please remove:** Lorraine Vass

Rochelle Ferris

**Please add:** Audrey Koosmen

Julia McConnell

**Moved:** Julia McConnell - IGLs **Seconded:** Lorraine Vass - FOK

Carried Unanimously

**Action:** Shirley Lack

#### 9.2 Other

Attention is drawn to NSW Fair Trading Fact Sheet *Statutory and reporting obligations: Incorporated Associations*, August 2010:

**Public officer:** The public officer is, by virtue of that office, an authorised signatory for the

association.

**Motion:** That the Public Officer be added as a documentary signatory to the NWC.

**Moved:** Meredith Ryan - FAWNA **Seconded:** Lorraine Vass - FOK

Carried Unanimously

# 10. LOCATION OF NWC POST OFFICE BOX

It was agreed that the NWC PO Box remain at Lismore for the remainder of the paid time period - 31 March 2013 - and a redirection be enabled to forward future correspondence to the Secretary, Julia McConnell.

**Action:** Lorraine Vass

#### 11. VOTES of THANKS

**Motion:** A Vote of thanks be extended to Coralie Tarlinton for her long-standing support and

contributions to the NWC.

Moved: Lorraine Vass - FOK Seconded: Rochelle Ferris - ASR

**Motion:** A Vote of thanks be extended to Caroline Enfield for her long-standing support and

contributions to the NWC.

Moved: Audrey Koosmen - NATF Seconded: Shona Lorigan - ORRCA

**Motion:** A Vote of thanks be extended to Phil Machin for his efforts and contributions to the

NWC.

**Moved:** Audrey Koosmen - NATF **Seconded:** James Fitzgerald – Wildcare Q

**Motion:** A Vote of thanks be extended to Geoff Bartlett for his assistance being Returning

Officer.

**Moved:** Audrey Koosmen - NATF

**Seconded:** Rochelle Ferris - ASR

# 12. CLOSE of MEETING – 11.05am