NSW Wildlife Council, Inc.

Fifth Annual General Meeting

Sunday 29 August 2010 at 9.30am

The Centre Frances Street, Randwick

Minutes

1. Meeting open and Welcome

- 1.1 Present: Audrey Koosmen (Chair) NATF; Stan Wood (Vice Chair) WIRES; Shirley Lack (Secretary and Insurance Officer) NARG, Julia McConnell (Treasurer) IGL, Lorraine Vass (Minute Secretary) FOK, Marny Bonner ASR, Philip Machin NARG (Alt.), Ian Gowanloch SONA, John Gorham FAWNA, Georgie Whaley NRWC, Coralie Tarlinton Wildcare Qbn, Greg Tarlinton, Wildcare Qbn (Alt.), Shona Lorigan ORRCA (Alt.), Brian Chetwynd NTWC, Andrew Burton Wildlife Aid, Ilona Roberts TVWC.
- **1.2 Apologies:** Gwen Parry-Jones Wildlife ARC, Jan Brazel Wildlife ARC (Alt.); Page Sinclair Pet Porpoise Pool; Jill Taylor HKPS; Denise Singleton RRANA; Peter Daniels Corrective Services NSW Wildlife Care Centre, John Meany NANA, James Fitzgerald LAOKO, Helen Kennedy, Sydney Wildlife (Alt.), John Mostyn IGL (Alt).

2. Confirmation of Minutes of Fourth Annual General Meeting held Wednesday 24 March November 2010

Julia McConnell moved and Andrew Burton seconded that the draft Minutes be accepted as read and confirmed. <u>Carried</u>

2.1 Business Arising

2.1.1 Improved communication

The correspondence which was to have been written to member groups on disseminating information about the Council and its business and possible improvements was not actioned.

2.1.2 Delegating Authority

The information paper listing the Executive's delegations and authorizations was not prepared.

3. Presentation of Reports

3.1 Chair - Audrey Koosmen read her fifth report (attached), giving special recognition to Ilona Robert's ongoing participation in the work of the Botanic Gardens Trust GHFF Relocation Steering Committee. Audrey thanked Ilona with a personal gift.

3.2 Treasurer – Julia McConnell presented her report, and the audited *Financial Statements for the year ended 30 June 2010,* both of which had been circulated by email prior to the meeting. The 30 June 2010 marked the end of the first triennium funding agreements with DECCW and the RTA.

Audrey thanked Julia for her competent and conscientious management of the Council's finances throughout the year.

Lorraine Vass moved and Georgie Whaley seconded that the Chair's and Treasurer's reports be received and noted. <u>Carried</u>

Julia McConnell moved and **Brian Chetwynd** seconded that the Public Officer be authorized to sign the Annual Statement to be registered with the NSW Office of Fair Trading. <u>Carried</u>

4. Confirmation of Membership and Member Representatives for 2010-11

It was noted that most member groups either appoint their Council representatives at their AGM or at the first meeting of their in-coming committee. Holding the Council's AGM earlier in the year puts it out of kilter with most groups' AGMs thus representatives would continue to be formally notified at the discretion of the member group.

4.1 2010-2011 Meetings Dates and Venues

There was agreement to hold general meetings between AGMs on the fourth Tuesday of the month at quarterly intervals:

General Meeting no. 19: Tuesday 23 November 2010 – DECCW Hurstville General Meeting no. 20: Tuesday 22 February 2011 – DECCW Hurstville General Meeting no. 21: Tuesday 24 May 2011 – DECCW Hurstville General Meeting no. 22 and Sixth AGM: 27/28 August 2011 – The Centre, Randwick

Action: Chair to book meetings held at Hurstville and Secretary to book meetings held at The Centre.

5. Elections

The meeting agreed to appoint Philip Machin as Returning Officer and he graciously accepted.

All office bearing and non office bearing, named positions were declared vacant.

5.1 Office Bearers (Executive)

The Returning Officer noted that no nominations had been received for office bearing positions prior to the meeting, thus nominations would be drawn from the fourteen member groups represented and present at the meeting.

Phil commended the out-going Executive for the high standard to which members had carried out their responsibilities. He also called for a change in the way the Council performs its business by relying more on people not presently engaged in its operation.

Call for nominations:

Chair: Audrey Koosmen NATF Nominated by Stan Wood of WIRES and Seconded by Ilona Roberts of TVWC.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Audrey Koosmen was declared elected.

Vice Chair Stan Wood WIRES Nominated by Coralie Tarlinton Wildcare Qbn, and Seconded by Andrew Burton Wildlife Aid.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Stan Wood was declared elected.

Secretary Brian Chetwynd NTWC Nominated by Shirley Lack NARG and Seconded by Lorraine Vass FOK.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Brian Chetwynd was declared elected.

Treasurer Julia MConnell IGL Nominated by Lorraine Vass FOK and Seconded by Ilona Roberts TVWC.

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Julia McConnell was declared elected.

Media Officer Shirley Lack NARG Nominated by Coralie Tarlinton Wildcare Qbn and Seconded by Brian Chetwynd NTWC

There being no other nominations forthcoming, Shirley Lack was declared elected.

5.2 Named Positions

Revenue Officer:	No nomination
Minute Secretary:	Lorraine Vass FOK Nominated by Brian Chetwynd NTWC and
-	Seconded by Julia McConnell IGL
Webmaster and	Greg Tarlinton Wildcare Qbn. Nominated by Coralie Tarlinton Wildcare
Forum Adminstrator	: Qbn and Seconded by Stan Wood WIRES.
Insurance Officer:	Shirley Lack NARG Nominated by Lorraine Vass FOK and
	Seconded by Julia McConnell IGL
Nature Conservation	Lorraine Vass FOK Nominated by Audrey Koosmen NATF and
Council of NSW Rep.	: Seconded by Julia McConnell IGL
Newsletter Editor:	Philip Machin NARG Nominated by Shirley Lack NARG and
	Seconded by Coralie Tarlinton Wildcare Qbn
Education Officer:	Position to be left vacant .
Public Officer:	Lorraine Vass FOK Nominated by Audrey Koosmen NATF and
	Seconded by Stan Wood WIRES.
Honorary Auditor:	Ron Witham Nominated by Andrew Burton Wildlife Aid and
	Seconded by Julia McConnell IGL

The nominations of all named position holders were carried.

The Returning Officer thanked all office-bearers and other position holders and wished them well for their forthcoming term.

Audrey thanked Phil and resumed the Chair to acclamation, welcoming her fellow Executive members to another challenging year.

6. Authorised Bank Signatories 2010-2011

Julia McConnell moved and **Stan Wood** seconded that Brian Chetwynd be added as a signatory to the Council's bank account. It was agreed that signatories include all office-bearers. <u>Carried</u>

Action: The Treasurer to initiate the necessary paperwork to add Brian Chetwynd to the list of account signatories.

7. Presentations and Votes of Thanks

Lorraine Vass reminded the meeting of Gwen Parry-Jones's recognition in the Queens Birthday Honours List with conferral of the Order of Australia.

Audrey spoke of Gwen's life-long passion for native wildlife and especially her work on the Grey Headed Flying Fox and her commitment to Wildlife ARC. Coralie commented that many wildlife carers including herself, had received their training in flying foxes from Gwen

Action: The Secretary to prepare, in consultation with the Chair, a card and letter congratulating Gwen on her work and award on behalf of her NWC colleagues.

8. Review of the Strategic Plan and Priorities for 2010-11 – 2012-2013

Facilitator John Gorham undertook to write up and distribute the notes which will form the basis of the Council's work program for the forthcoming triennium.

9.Close of Meeting

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 12.30pm